Tags

,

As stated earlier, my initial aim is to set a system like,

cisco_virtual_lab1m

Optionally, in order to fine tune VMware host only adapters, we may use “virtual network editor” tool which is included in VMWare Player but for a reason that I have no idea, is not installed automaticly. In order to use “virtual network editor”, get a version 4.0 WMware player from https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/downloads with choosing major and minor version numbers as

vmware_version4

Do not install, just save installer to a temporary directory. Then extract it (VMware-player-4.0.0-471780 in my case) to a desired folder (c:\temp\player) as;
VMware-player-4.0.0-471780 /e c:\temp\player
There should appear a file “network.cab” in choosen extract directory,

extracting_vmwareplayer

then go to extracted folder “c:\temp\player” to extract “network.cab” to obtain “vmnetcfg.exe”. Copy this to working directory of VMware player to configure virtual networks of vmware. This directory will be “C:\Program Files (x86)\VMware\VMware Player” in my case,

vmnetcfg_copy

Then click vmnetcfg to see virtual network editor

virtual_network_editor

With using this tool, I may fine tune adaptors, give them custom ip ranges etc. However, default values will be fine for me. I want to use first three host only adaptors for my gns3 interfaces, so I modify configuretion file “.vmx” of my gns3 debian system;

gns3_net_config

Results of this change will also yield itself in VMware player system properties window;

gns3_net_config_result

Now, host only interfaces of my gns3 Debian will be;
VMnet1 192.168.43.0/24
VMnet2 192.168.142.0/24
VMnet3 192.168.211.0/24

These will be important in gns3 router configurations…

