Tags

, ,

This blog series will be about cisco ccna security exam study. I am not a cisco gru or network expert, so do not expext ninja skills. What will be next is tarces of my journey throughout my study. There may sure be some errors or inappropriate parts, so fell free to leave a comment. I will try to use open source or free to use software as best of my knowledge and ability as I can. As an initial step, I decided to prepare a virtual lab environment, somewhat similar to figure below;

cisco_virtual_lab1

What I have in my mind is implementing each block as a virtual machine on its own. I will be using VMWare (https://my.vmware.com/web/vmware/free#desktop_end_user_computing/vmware_player/6_0) as my virtualisation environment in building these blocks. I choose VMWare becouse I have some experience using it. Possibly Virtual Box, KVM or any other similar platform will also be fine.

As may be seen at figure, block 1 will be center of this setup. It will contain network devices (possibly some routers and similar staff) and will be connected to other blocks with isolated interfaces. This block will be a gns3 (http://www.gns3.net/) program running on a Debian system and having virtual network devices running in it.

Block 2 will be somewhat server block, which will contain Cisco Configuration Professional, CCP, and other things that will be needed as I progress. Blocks 3,4,.. will be application layer platforms. Since, it has very small system requirements, Damn small Linux, dsl (http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/), may be a good choice.

So lets start with implementing block 1 …

